New Ballot Question Committees Form to Fight S, Back T

Two more ballot question committees have formed since my last review of the Secretary of State’s campaign finance records.

Sioux Falls lawyer Jason Adams has organized No on S to oppose Jason Glodt’s Amendment S, the crime victims bill of rights. Adams filed his statement of organization this week Tuesday, September 13. Adams is part of the South Dakota State Bar, which opposes Amendment S, and the South Dakota Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.

Jean Behr and Samantha Spawn of Sioux Falls have organized Sioux Falls Clinic to support Amendment T, the independent redistricting proposal. They filed their statement of organization on August 31. Jean Behr is one of the circulators Bradley Thuringer falsely accused of breaking the law in circulating petitions for Initiated Measure 21, the 36% rate cap on payday loans. Behr works for Planned Parenthood; Spawn is the new exec at NARAL Pro-Choice SD.

I’ve updated these two new entries on my list of active ballot question committees. Three of our ten ballot questions remain uncontested: no group is officially supporting Referred Law 19, the Incumbent Protection Act, or Referred Law 20, the youth sub-minimum wage, and no one has organized against Amendment R, the vo-tech governance proposal.